Clubberjack\’s WordPress Experiment



VIS 2005: Professional Community Redux

I’m at another conference. This week finds me at the VIS conference (that’s IEEE Visualization 2005 for those not “in the know”). Once again, I don’t feel at home in the same way that I feel at home at the Game Developers Conference. Re-reading my earlier reflections on this thought, however, I have to say that I disagree with one point.

I have a greater sense of contribution. Although, as an artist, I feel like an outsider here, I feel like that is a strength rather than a liability. I bring a valuable perspective that is practically unrepresented at this gathering of engineers, though this conference is certainly more artist friendly than other engineering cons. This is a field in which an artistic eye can make an impact.

I still prefer GDC. Hm.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Rosa Benito says:

    Will Pajamas Media Wake Up Blogs?
    Big-name political bloggers are banding together to try to bring order to the sometimes-chaotic … Richard Silverstein has analyzed some of the bigger names in Pajamas Media to show their conservative tilt in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, saying that their viewpoints are farther to the right than Ariel Sharon’s.
    Find out how to buy and sell anything, like things related to how to repair a road bicycle on interest free credit and pay back whenever you want! Exchange FREE ads on any topic, like how to repair a road bicycle!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

